Last updated: September 26, 2026
Chuck Price has 35+ years of RV camping experience and owns a 2018 Hymer Aktiv Class B.
Three 2019 Class B models showed average retail at 45% to 49% of original list price, by our math on J.D. Power values. J.D. Power showed a 2019 Winnebago Travato 59K at $50,250 average retail against a $102,348 list price, as displayed September 26, 2026. Check the chassis, recalls and batteries before you pay. Our 2026 Class B RV ratings show which models hold up and which do not.
New to the category? Start with our explainer on what a Class B RV is. Prices, rates and recall status change, so verify each figure with the linked source before you buy.
- Watch for: An unrepaired recall on the VIN in the NHTSA recall lookup, and roof sealant that has not been inspected every six months as Winnebago advises.
- Best for: Match the chassis to your use. Every Winnebago Revel in the Winnebago sources checked has 4WD or AWD, and the Ram ProMaster got a nine-speed automatic for 2022 (Stellantis).
- Confirm before you pay: NRVIA suggests writing “Purchase contingent upon a third-party inspection” into your purchase agreement.
What used Class B RVs sell for
Used Class B values vary by model, trim and chassis. The table shows J.D. Power values as displayed on September 26, 2026. J.D. Power states no valuation date, mileage or options basis on these pages. Treat each figure as a starting point for one model year and trim, not a price for a specific van.
| Model | List price (MSRP) | Low retail | Average retail | Average retail as % of MSRP | Chassis and house power (use case) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 Travato 59K | $102,348 | $41,700 | $50,250 | 49.1% | Ram ProMaster, two Group 31 AGM batteries (brochure) |
| 2019 Travato 59KL | $139,390 | $53,900 | $64,950 | 46.6% | Ram ProMaster, 48V Volta lithium pack (brochure) |
| 2019 Revel 44E | $149,299 | $55,550 | $66,900 | 44.8% | Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 4×4 (J.D. Power model name) |
By our calculation, average retail sat $52,098, $74,440 and $82,399 below the original list price for the 59K, 59KL and Revel 44E. These three ratios are our arithmetic on J.D. Power values, not a J.D. Power depreciation rate.
The 20% drive-off figure comes from J.D. Power and covers all RVs. In a November 2019 article, J.D. Power wrote that “you lose 20% of your RV’s value only by driving off the lot”. The same article says a Class A is likely worth about 30% less after 3 years and a Class C shows about 38% depreciation after 5 years. It publishes no Class B depreciation rate. J.D. Power also says, “The larger the camper, the more quickly it depreciates.” It names maintenance records, avoiding water damage and storage as factors in value.
Trim changes value within one model year, as the 59K and 59KL rows show. Compare layouts in our guide to Class B floor plans.
Know the chassis before the camper
Check the chassis model year before you compare camper features. On the Ram ProMaster and Ford Transit, the chassis year sets which automatic transmission the van has, as the dates below show. Confirm the chassis year on the van’s VIN or registration before you compare prices.
Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
Mercedes-Benz Vans lists a Sprinter diesel service interval of up to 2 years or 20,000 miles in its ServiceCARE customer guide. The same 2022 guide lists up to 1 year or 15,000 miles for the gas Sprinter. The guide does not state which model years these intervals cover.
A dealer page from Mercedes-Benz of Caldwell gives a different schedule. It lists a first Service A at 10,000 miles or 12 months. It lists Service B at 20,000 miles or 12 months after Service A, and diesel oil every 20,000 miles or 1 year. Follow the maintenance booklet and service indicator for the van’s own model year. Ask the seller for records that match that schedule, since J.D. Power names maintenance records as a value factor.
Every Winnebago Revel in the two Winnebago sources checked has 4WD or AWD. The early Revel 44E brochure, filed as 2019 but describing the 2018 model, lists on-demand 4WD with low range and a 3.0L six-cylinder 188-hp diesel (Winnebago). The 2026 Revel 44E uses a Mercedes-Benz AWD Sprinter chassis with a 2.0L four-cylinder turbo-diesel, 211 hp and a 9-speed automatic (Winnebago). The 2026 model starts at an MSRP of $261,808, as displayed September 26, 2026.
Ram ProMaster
The 2022 Ram ProMaster added what Stellantis calls a “segment-exclusive TorqueFlite nine-speed automatic transmission”. Stellantis paired it with the 3.6L Pentastar V-6 at 276 hp and 250 lb-ft, in a release dated August 24, 2021. Stellantis says fuel economy improves by up to 9% over the earlier ProMaster powertrain.
The 2019 Winnebago Travato, an earlier ProMaster-based van, lists an “Automatic 62TE transmission” and a 280-hp V-6 in its brochure. The same brochure lists a 21-foot length, a 9,350-lb GVWR and a 24-gallon fuel tank. It offers four floorplans: 59G, 59K, 59GL and 59KL.
Ford Transit
Ford Authority reported in June 2020 that “the new 10-speed replaces the old six-speed SelectShift automatic” in the 2020 Transit. Automotive Fleet reported in April 2019 that the 2020 Transit adds a 3.5L PFDi V-6. The same report says all-wheel drive is available with gasoline powertrains. This guide has no verified used-price data for a Transit-based Class B.
No source used here ranks the best model years. The verified dividing lines are the chassis changes above: 2020 for the Transit and 2022 for the ProMaster.
Check the VIN for open recalls
Run the van’s 17-character vehicle identification number (VIN) through the NHTSA recall lookup before you buy. The U.S. federal lookup shows whether a specific vehicle needs a repair as part of a recall. It does not show recalls more than 15 years old, except where a manufacturer offers more coverage. It also leaves out recalls by small vehicle manufacturers, including some ultra-luxury brands and specialty applications, per NHTSA as checked September 26, 2026.
Ask the RV builder directly about recalls on the conversion, since the lookup may not list every specialty manufacturer. Run the VIN again close to your purchase date, since NHTSA says some recently announced recalls may not show yet.
Dealer paperwork and the FTC Buyers Guide
The Federal Trade Commission’s Used Motor Vehicle Trade Regulation Rule (16 CFR Part 455) requires dealers to post a Buyers Guide on used vehicles, but its definition of vehicle stops below 8,500 lbs GVWR. The rule defines a dealer as a person or business that sold or offered for sale five or more used vehicles in the previous twelve months (eCFR). 16 CFR 455.2 states, “Before you offer a used vehicle for sale to a consumer, you must prepare, fill in as applicable and display on that vehicle the applicable ‘Buyers Guide'” (eCFR). Section 455.1 defines a vehicle as a motorized vehicle, other than a motorcycle, with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) under 8,500 lbs, a curb weight under 6,000 lbs and a frontal area under 46 square feet (eCFR). Both sections are U.S. federal regulations, and eCFR showed them up to date as of September 24, 2026.
The 2019 Travato lists a 9,350-lb GVWR (Winnebago), and the 2026 Revel 44E lists 9,050 lbs (Winnebago). Both exceed the 8,500-lb ceiling in the rule’s definition. Do not assume a dealer will post a Buyers Guide on a van rated above 8,500 lbs GVWR, so check the GVWR of the van you are considering. Ask for any warranty terms in writing. State dealer and lemon laws are not covered here, so check with your state’s consumer protection office.
Get a professional inspection
Hire an independent inspector and make the purchase depend on the result. The National RV Inspectors Association (NRVIA) suggests buyers write “Purchase contingent upon a third-party inspection” into the purchase agreement. NRVIA says its inspections test propane, electrical, plumbing and appliances under operating conditions and produce a photo report. It says an inspection often takes an entire day. NRVIA’s inspector locator now points buyers to RV Help.
In a November 2025 article, NRVIA says inspections for smaller trailers often start around $500. It says large fifth wheels and Class A motorhomes can run $1,200 to $1,500. Add-ons such as fluid analysis can raise the total to about $2,000. NRVIA publishes no Class B price, so get a written quote for the specific van. Before you book, read how to know you are paying a fair price for an RV inspection.
Use this checklist with the inspector:
- Roof and sealants: Winnebago says to “Inspect sealants every six months and replace as needed” and to clean the roof and flush the underside every three months. Ask when the seller last did both.
- Systems under operating conditions: have the propane, electrical, plumbing and appliances tested running, as NRVIA describes.
- Water damage: J.D. Power lists avoiding water damage as a factor in RV value.
- Service records: compare them with the Sprinter intervals above, or with the chassis maker’s schedule for other vans.
- Recall status: bring a printout of the NHTSA VIN lookup result.
- House batteries: note the chemistry, brand and model, then check the maker’s datasheet.
House batteries: lead-acid versus lithium
A used Class B may carry lead-acid or lithium house batteries, even within one model year. The 2019 Travato 59G and 59K list “2 deep-cycle Group 31 batteries (AGM maintenance-free)” in the Winnebago brochure. The 59GL and 59KL list a “48V Volta energy storage pack” with “8,700 usable watt-hrs”. Lithium in the 2019 Travato came only on the 59GL and 59KL floorplans. The 2026 Revel 44E lists an 8.4 kWh Lithionics lithium-ion battery, with an optional second battery for 16.8 kWh (Winnebago).
Trojan Battery writes, “we generally recommend a discharge of 20 to 50% of the batteries rated capacity even though the battery is capable of being cycled to 80%.” Trojan says storing a battery discharged causes sulfation and may cause premature battery failure.
Lithium cycle life also depends on depth of discharge (DoD). Victron rates its Smart LiFePO4 batteries at 2,500 cycles at 80% DoD, 3,000 at 70% and 5,000 at 50%. Battle Born lists a 3,000 to 5,000 cycle lifespan and a 10-year warranty for its 100Ah 12V battery. Battle Born’s page does not state the DoD basis, so the two ratings are not directly comparable.
| Battery | Cycle rating | Rating basis | Cold-weather note (use case) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Victron Smart LiFePO4 | 2,500 to 5,000 cycles | 80% to 50% DoD, to at least 80% of nominal capacity | Charge only from +5 °C to +50 °C, external BMS required |
| Battle Born 100Ah 12V | 3,000 to 5,000 cycles | Not stated on the product page | Heated version offered |
Victron allows charging from +5 °C to +50 °C and discharging from -20 °C to +50 °C. If you plan to camp off-grid in the van, see how to choose a camping spot for a Class B RV.
Financing and insurance costs
Budget for loan interest and insurance on top of the purchase price. Bankrate listed RV loan APRs of 6.24% to 7.24% at Alliant Credit Union, 6.49% at Good Sam Finance Center, 7.45% at Navy Federal and 7.99% at U.S. Bank. Bankrate dates these rates December 1, 2025, on a page updated June 18, 2026, and checked September 26, 2026. Bankrate says typical RV loan terms range from five to seven years.
Progressive says its 2024 countrywide average premium for a 12-month motorhome policy was $1,052. The same page says liability-only motorhome coverage starts at $125 per year. These are Progressive averages from a page updated November 14, 2024, not quotes. Progressive lists RV type, how you use it, location, coverage, driving record and claims history as cost factors. Progressive says lenders usually require added coverages on financed RVs, which raises the policy’s price, so ask your lender which ones apply. Before you buy, read our guide to the RV insurance claim process.
When to shop and what to do next
Seasonal pricing is outside the sources used here. For timing, read whether winter is the right time to buy or sell an RV. Once you have a specific van in view, work through these steps in order:
- Pull the J.D. Power value for the exact model year and trim.
- Run the VIN in the NHTSA recall lookup and ask the RV builder about conversion recalls.
- Confirm the chassis model year and match the service records to the chassis maker’s schedule.
- Write a third-party inspection contingency into the purchase agreement, as NRVIA suggests.
- Get any warranty terms in writing.
- Get current loan and insurance quotes before you sign.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a used Class B RV cost?
It depends on the model, trim and year. As displayed by J.D. Power on September 26, 2026, average retail was $50,250 for a 2019 Winnebago Travato 59K. The 2019 Travato 59KL showed $64,950 and the 2019 Revel 44E showed $66,900. J.D. Power states no mileage or options basis, so treat these as starting points.
How fast do Class B RVs depreciate?
J.D. Power publishes no Class B depreciation rate. Its November 2019 article says an RV loses about 20% of its value when driven off the lot, a figure for all RV types (J.D. Power). By our math on J.D. Power values, three 2019 Class B models showed average retail at 44.8% to 49.1% of original MSRP in September 2026.
How do I check a used camper van for recalls?
Enter the van’s 17-character VIN in the NHTSA recall lookup. It shows whether that specific vehicle needs a recall repair. NHTSA says the tool generally does not show recalls more than 15 years old or recalls by some small and specialty manufacturers. Ask the RV builder about recalls on the conversion as well, and check again before you pay.
How much does a used RV inspection cost?
In a November 2025 article, NRVIA says inspections for smaller trailers often start around $500. Large fifth wheels and Class A motorhomes can run $1,200 to $1,500, and add-ons such as fluid analysis can bring the total to about $2,000. NRVIA gives no Class B figure. Get a written quote and write the inspection contingency into your purchase agreement.
Is lithium worth it in a used Class B?
Lithium cycle life depends on how deeply you discharge the battery. Victron rates its Smart LiFePO4 batteries at 2,500 cycles at 80% depth of discharge and 5,000 at 50%. Battle Born lists 3,000 to 5,000 cycles without stating the basis. Victron allows charging only at +5 °C or warmer, so check how the van handles cold.
How much is insurance for a Class B RV?
Progressive reports a 2024 countrywide average of $1,052 for a 12-month motorhome policy at Progressive. The figure covers motorhomes in general. Liability-only motorhome coverage starts at $125 per year. Your price depends on RV type, how you use it, location, coverage, driving record and claims history. Progressive says lenders usually require added coverages on financed RVs.
When did the Ram ProMaster get the nine-speed transmission?
The Ram ProMaster got a nine-speed automatic for the 2022 model year, per a Stellantis release dated August 24, 2021. It pairs with the 3.6L Pentastar V-6 at 276 hp. The 2019 Winnebago Travato, an earlier ProMaster-based van, lists an Automatic 62TE transmission (Winnebago). Confirm the chassis model year before you buy.