Free overnight RV parking is permission, not a right. Walmart lets each store manager decide, based on space and local laws. California limits state rest area stays to 8 hours in any 24 (21 CCR § 2205). Virginia bans overnight rest area parking (24VAC30-51-30).

Last updated: September 26, 2026

Chuck Price has 35+ years of RV camping experience and owns a 2018 Hymer Aktiv Class B.

Quick answers

  • Must-know: Walmart permits RV parking “as we are able,” and each store manager makes the call (Walmart FAQ).
  • Trip killers: Virginia bans overnight parking at its rest areas (24VAC30-51-30). Florida allows the general public three hours, and commercial motor vehicle operators subject to hours-of-service regulations ten (Fla. Admin. Code R. 14-28.002).
  • Best for self-contained rigs: Harvest Hosts and Boondockers Welcome both require a fully self-contained RV with an interior toilet (Harvest Hosts, Boondockers Welcome).
  • Confirm before you go: Ask the store manager, read posted signs and check the state DOT before you stop.

What “free” RV parking actually costs you

Free RV parking trades a camping fee for conditions: no hookups, no guaranteed space and a clock. Walmart states that “we do not offer electrical service or accommodations typically necessary for RV customers” (Walmart). This guide covers U.S. retail lots, state rest areas and truck stops only. It does not cover casinos or city ordinances, because no official policy for either was reviewed.

The costs show up in three places.

  • No hookups: Walmart offers no electrical service for RVs, so you run on your own batteries and tanks (Walmart).
  • No guaranteed space: a store manager can grant or withhold permission based on space and local law.
  • Time limits: among the seven states reviewed below, rest area rules range from no overnight parking in Virginia to up to 24 hours in Texas (TxDOT).

Walmart and other retail lots: whose rule applies

Walmart’s corporate FAQ says, “Permission to park is extended by individual store managers, based on availability of parking space and local laws” (Walmart). The same FAQ says Walmart permits RV parking on its lots “as we are able.” The corporate FAQ lists no time limit and no fee. Walmart asks RV owners to contact management at each store before parking.

This guide does not cover other retail chains, because no official overnight policy page was reviewed for them. For notes by state, see our Walmart overnight parking rules by state.

Rest area overnight rules by state (partial list)

Rest area time limits are set state by state, and the seven states below range from no overnight parking to 24 hours. The Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) states, “Florida Administrative Code (FAC) Rule permits a period of three hours for the general public, and a period of ten hours for commercial motor vehicle operators subject to hours-of-service regulations” (FDOT). The rule was last amended December 5, 2018 (Florida rules portal). This table covers state-run rest areas in seven states only. It does not cover turnpike service plazas or private lots.

California’s rule reads, “Vehicles shall not be parked and persons shall not remain for more than eight (8) hours in any twenty-four (24) hour period” (21 CCR § 2205).

State rest area time limits, partial list of seven states. Each rule was opened September 26, 2026. Check posted signs and the state DOT before you stop.
State Time limit Camping Rule and date Applies to
California 8 hours in any 24-hour period Prohibited Cal. Code Regs. tit. 21, § 2205, operative April 6, 1995 State safety roadside rest areas
Oregon 12 hours within any 24-hour period Prohibited, including setting up a tent or other structure OAR 734-030-0010, quoted by ODOT TripCheck State rest areas
Florida 3 hours for the general public, 10 hours for commercial motor vehicle operators subject to hours-of-service regulations Prohibited Fla. Admin. Code R. 14-28.002, last amended December 5, 2018 Rest areas and welcome centers
Texas Up to 24 hours Not stated in the cited source TxDOT, citing Texas Transportation Code 545.411 Safety rest areas
Ohio No stay limit stated. Leaving a vehicle unattended for three hours without permission of the state highway patrol or the department is prohibited Prohibited Ohio Adm. Code 5501:2-4-01, effective May 15, 2023 Rest areas and roadside parks under Ohio Department of Transportation jurisdiction
Virginia No overnight parking Not stated. Sleeping in the rest area building is banned at all times 24VAC30-51-30, effective March 11, 2026 State rest areas
Arizona No hour limit listed on the ADOT page Camping and campfires prohibited Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) rest area rules State rest areas

For states not listed here, see our rest area overnight rules for every state, then confirm the rule with that state’s DOT.

Truck stops: RV parking and why truck spaces matter

Pilot and Love’s both publish RV services, but neither company’s pages reviewed list a nightly parking rate. Truck parking matters because federal surveys found drivers short of safe spaces, especially at night. This section covers only the Pilot Company and Love’s Travel Stops pages and two Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) surveys.
For more detail, read our guide to overnight RV parking at truck stops.

What Pilot and Love’s publish for RVs

  • Pilot’s RV services page says, “Park in our overnight spaces for a safe travel break” (Pilot Company).
  • Pilot lists RV dump stations, RV fuel lanes, and cylinder and bulk propane.
  • Pilot offers Good Sam members “Discounted Dumping Fees,” but the page lists no dump or parking prices.
  • Love’s lists more than 100 RV Stops, booked through camplife.com, with propane refills and RV dump among the amenities (Love’s).

Why truck spaces run short at night

FHWA’s 2015 Jason’s Law survey and its 2019 update asked different groups, so their figures are reported separately below.

  • 2015 survey, drivers and logistics staff: 90 percent “reported struggling to find safe and available parking during night hours” (FHWA 2015 executive summary). The summary reports that figure in its driver perceptions section, which covers truck drivers and logistics personnel, and does not give the number of respondents.
  • 2015 survey, state DOTs: “Almost half of the State DOTs reported unofficial and/or illegal parking on freeway interchange ramps and shoulders of highways,” per the same executive summary. An FHWA release dated August 21, 2015 called truckers being forced onto those ramps and shoulders a safety issue (FHWA release).
  • 2019 update, parking supply: FHWA counted about 313,000 truck parking spaces nationally (FHWA 2019 update, presented December 1, 2020). About 40,000 were at public rest areas and about 273,000 at private truck stops.
  • 2019 update, drivers: “98 percent of drivers reported problems finding safe parking.” The 2019 driver survey drew 11,696 responses, per the same presentation.
  • 2019 update, timing: shortages were reported most often from 4 PM to 5 AM, Monday through Thursday.

Federal hours-of-service rules let property-carrying drivers drive a maximum of 11 hours after 10 consecutive hours off duty (FMCSA, page updated March 28, 2022). Where a truck stop offers RV spaces or a reservable RV Stop, use those and leave truck spaces to drivers.

Paid alternatives: what memberships cost in 2026

Harvest Hosts lists its Classic plan at $99 per year as of September 26, 2026 (Harvest Hosts plans). On that date, Harvest Hosts showed lower prices for your first year (Harvest Hosts). Boondockers Welcome lists its own plan at $79 per year (Boondockers Welcome plans). RV Overnights lists $49.99 per year (RV Overnights). All prices are company-published and subject to change. Harvest Hosts says renewal taxes depend on your billing address (Harvest Hosts help).

Overnight membership programs, list prices shown on each company’s site on September 26, 2026, subject to change. Sources: Harvest Hosts plans, Harvest Hosts how it works, Boondockers Welcome plans, Boondockers Welcome guest rules, RV Overnights membership, RV Overnights help.
Program Annual list price Stay limit Rig requirement Purchase from host Extra fees Use case
Harvest Hosts Classic $99 Most stays one night. Harvest Hosts describes extra nights as both “up to four total nights” and “up to four extra nights” Fully self-contained, interior toilet and onboard waste tanks Many members choose to buy, per Harvest Hosts Extra nights are “for a fee,” and hookups are offered “for a small fee” Harvest Hosts network only, excludes Boondockers Welcome and Campground Partners
Harvest Hosts + Boondockers Welcome $169 Harvest Hosts rules above, plus the Boondockers Welcome cap below Fully self-contained Many members choose to buy at Harvest Hosts, per Harvest Hosts Same as the two programs’ own rules Harvest Hosts and Boondockers Welcome networks, plus Campground Partners
Harvest Hosts All Access $179 Harvest Hosts rules above, plus the Boondockers Welcome cap below Fully self-contained Many members choose to buy at Harvest Hosts, per Harvest Hosts Same as the two programs’ own rules Adds Boondockers Welcome, golf courses, Campground Partners and Escapees RV Club membership, which Harvest Hosts values at $49.95
Boondockers Welcome $79 5 nights in a 90-day window with the same host Fully self-contained, interior toilet and built-in holding tanks or bladders Not stated on the pages cited Hosts may ask for costs if you use hookups, and free parking without hookups must stay an option Unlimited overnight stays with no camping fees
RV Overnights $49.99, or $29.99 with the Hero or FRVA discount One-night stays Not stated on the pages cited Members support the business with a purchase Not stated on the pages cited 1,450+ locations in the U.S. and Canada

RV Overnights renews annually, can be cancelled anytime and carries a 90-day money-back guarantee (RV Overnights help). RV Overnights says discount codes work only on website purchases, not memberships bought through the Apple App Store or Google Play.

Harvest Hosts: 20% off membership, not every trip cost

BOONDOCK20 saves new members 20% on any Harvest Hosts plan for the first year only. At the list prices above, that is $79.20 for Classic, $135.20 for Harvest Hosts + Boondockers Welcome, or $143.20 for All Access. The offer link applies the code automatically; these prices were displayed September 29, 2026. This lowers the initial membership bill but does not eliminate host-support spending, optional hookups, extra-night charges, taxes, or detours. Future renewals are at the then-current rate. Do not assume other promotions stack.

Save 20% on Harvest Hosts

Affiliate disclosure: Boondock or Bust may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Confirm the final price and renewal terms at checkout.

For a side-by-side look at the programs, see Good Sam, Harvest Hosts and RVO compared. For host rules and common mistakes, read how Boondockers Welcome works.

How to confirm before you park

The checks below apply to U.S. retail lots, state rest areas, Pilot and Love’s locations, and the three membership programs covered above.

  1. Walmart: contact store management before you park, as Walmart’s FAQ asks (Walmart).
  2. Rest areas: look up the rule for each state on your route and read posted signs.
  3. Truck stops: reserve a Love’s RV Stop through camplife.com, or use Pilot’s overnight spaces where offered.
  4. Memberships: confirm your RV has an interior toilet and holding tanks before you join Harvest Hosts or Boondockers Welcome.
  5. Checkout: confirm the current price and any tax, since Harvest Hosts taxes vary by billing address.

For options that still allow free overnight stays, see where you can still park free overnight.

Frequently asked questions

Is free RV parking really free?

Free RV parking usually has no fee, but it comes with conditions. Walmart store managers grant permission based on space and local laws, and Walmart offers no electrical service for RVs (Walmart). State rest areas cap stays, from 8 hours in any 24 in California to no overnight parking in Virginia, per rules opened September 26, 2026.

What are Walmart’s overnight parking rules?

Walmart’s corporate FAQ says it permits RV parking on store lots “as we are able” (Walmart). Individual store managers grant permission based on available space and local laws. Walmart asks RV owners to contact management at each store before parking. The FAQ lists no time limit and no fee, so ask the store directly.

Can you sleep overnight at a rest area?

As of rules opened September 26, 2026, California allows 8 hours in any 24, Oregon 12 hours in any 24, and Florida 3 hours for the general public and 10 for commercial motor vehicle operators subject to hours-of-service regulations. Texas allows up to 24 hours, and Virginia allows no overnight parking. Check posted signs and the state DOT before departure.

Can RVs park overnight at truck stops?

Pilot’s RV services page invites RVers to “Park in our overnight spaces for a safe travel break” (Pilot Company). Love’s lists more than 100 RV Stops reserved through camplife.com. FHWA’s 2019 update found 98 percent of truck drivers surveyed reported problems finding safe parking. Use RV spaces where offered and leave truck spaces to drivers.

How much does Harvest Hosts cost in 2026?

As of September 26, 2026, Harvest Hosts lists Classic at $99 per year, Harvest Hosts plus Boondockers Welcome at $169 and All Access at $179 (Harvest Hosts). BOONDOCK20 gives new members 20% off any Harvest Hosts plan for the first year only: $79.20, $135.20, and $143.20 respectively at those list prices, as displayed September 29, 2026. Renewal taxes depend on your billing address. Confirm current pricing at harvesthosts.com before you join.

How much does RV Overnights cost?

RV Overnights lists its membership at $49.99 per year, renewing until cancelled (RV Overnights). Active duty, veterans, retirees and first responders can pay $29.99 per year through its Hero discount, and a separate FRVA discount carries the same price. The company offers a 90-day money-back guarantee, per its help center as updated August 27, 2026.

Do you have to buy something at Harvest Hosts or RV Overnights?

Harvest Hosts says many members choose to support their host by purchasing wine, produce, beer, gifts or experiences (Harvest Hosts). RV Overnights states that members support the business with a purchase of food, drinks, products or other offerings from the host (RV Overnights). Check each host’s listing before you arrive.

How long can you stay with Boondockers Welcome?

Boondockers Welcome allows a maximum of 5 nights in a 90-day window with the same host, for insurance purposes (Boondockers Welcome). Your RV must be fully self-contained, with an interior toilet and built-in holding tanks or bladders. Hosts may ask you to cover costs if you use their hookups, as long as free parking without hookups stays an option.